Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Would the 12-cup Amethyst Plus with three MAXFOR+ cartridges suit your routine?
The exact package page lists a 12-cup body and three MAXFOR+ pieces total: one supplied with the jug and two extras. The manual gives a 1.4-liter Amethyst upper funnel.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you require the package with two extra MAXFOR+ cartridges?
The Plus page lists three MAXFOR+ cartridges total. This differs from the base single-B25 package; the cartridges are for successive changes, not one larger-capacity cartridge.
Explore this need in the finder →Does a 50-gallon-per-cartridge minimum work for you?
The exact page lists 50 gallons; the family manual states 200 liters (~52 U.S. gallons) for MAXFOR+/B25 but cautions that life varies with influent water. Matching uses 50 conservatively.
Explore this need in the finder →Is an exact-model lead performance record essential?
The page uses broad lead-related wording, but the inspected Amethyst Plus page/manual provide no exact-model challenge table, conditions, percentage or certification. Do not treat the broad copy as an exact test result.
Explore this need in the finder →The useful difference is the box, not a larger pitcher
Aquaphor’s Amethyst Plus listing is a separate package configuration: “Amethyst Plus + 2 extra cartridges.” Its US page shows the dark-blue SKU 500599 and red SKU 500596, identifies a 12-cup Amethyst body, and lists three MAXFOR+ cartridges in the equipment—one with the jug and two extra. The product image makes that count visible with an “x3” cartridge callout. This review keeps the bundle separate from the base Amethyst with one B25 cartridge; the package name and included filter route are material differences even though the jug body is the same familiar shape.
That distinction helps set expectations. Three cartridges are a starter supply for replacements over time, not one cartridge rated for three times the gallons and not three reservoirs of ready-filtered water. The page lists 50 gallons as filter life. Its family manual describes MAXFOR+ and B25 cartridges, and gives 200 liters (about 52 U.S. gallons) as the stated resource for those replacement formats. Because those numbers are not identical, a conservative minimum-capacity comparison uses the lower, 50-gallon page figure per cartridge. The manufacturer also warns that life varies with incoming water quality and impurities; the listed capacity is not a guaranteed household lifespan or a reason to skip the replacement instructions.
Same batch routine and same mechanical reminder
Amethyst’s pitcher page lists 12 cups; the family manual specifies a 1.4-liter upper funnel. The funnel has to drain before that water is filtered and ready to serve, so the advertised capacity should not be read as the volume immediately available after a single fill. The page describes a slider lid that can make filling easier when clearance under a faucet is limited. It also says the pitcher fits inside a refrigerator door, but provides no labeled height, depth and width. Measure the actual storage space if fit is essential rather than relying on a general product-page claim.
The lid counter is mechanical. When installing a replacement cartridge, the manual says to reset its arrow to the beginning; opening the lid advances it and the red area signals replacement. It is not an electronic timer, a gallon meter or a test of water quality. A counter that advances by lid openings can only help make the replacement routine visible; it does not know the source-water conditions or how much water was poured. The recommended practice is to use the proper cartridge format, reset the cue as instructed, and replace sooner if local conditions or the manufacturer’s guidance call for it.
What the performance record does—and does not—say
Aquaphor’s exact product page makes broad statements about reducing chlorine, rust, organic compounds, heavy metals and phenols. The sources reviewed for this Amethyst Plus package do not provide an exact-model performance table with named challenge conditions, percentages or a detailed certification entry. That is an important limit, not a reason to fill in missing values from a similar-looking cartridge. In particular, this package should not satisfy an essential “show me a lead-reduction test result” or microbial-treatment requirement on the evidence reviewed here. The maker’s general copy is a product claim, not a household water test.
The operating manual describes the filter jug as post-treatment for tap water and says to observe local sanitary rules. It does not make this a purifier for unsafe or unknown water. After a long interruption, discard the water already in the jug and filter two additional jugs before using the water again. Wash the lid and funnel with warm soapy water before use and after replacement, use fresh-filtered water, keep the pitcher away from heat and freezing temperatures, and fit the Amethyst anti-slip feet into their slots. The manual directs owners to follow its illustrated cartridge procedure; it does not state a simple discard-volume instruction in the text, so keep the package insert rather than guessing. Dishwasher safety is not established in the inspected material.
Is the extra-filter package worth your shelf space?
This version suits someone who already wants the Amethyst’s manual 12-cup pour-through format and prefers to receive two additional MAXFOR+ cartridges with the pitcher. It may reduce the friction of having to source a first replacement immediately, but the page does not justify assuming long-term availability or an exact replacement cost. If you only need one cartridge and want the documented B25 package, compare the base Amethyst listing. The two pages differ in included-filter identity and quantity, not in listed pitcher capacity or the mechanical counter routine.
Skip this bundle if your requirement is a different exact filter route, a larger capacity, a button-operated tap, or a documented contaminant test that the page does not show. The three included cartridges do not overcome those limits. If your essential question is refrigerator fit, verify measurements independently because the exact axes are not published on the product page. And if your source water is unsafe, follow local health guidance for treatment; a gravity jug remains a convenience for compliant tap water, not emergency disinfection.
Aquaphor Amethyst Plus U.S. product page · Aquaphor water-filter jug operating manual (Amethyst family)
Key details at a glance
| Listed pitcher capacity | 12 cups |
|---|---|
| Included filter | Aquaphor maxfor plus |
| Stated filter capacity | 50 gal |
| Fill-lid opening | Sliding fill opening |
| Reusable filter shell | No |
| Made without BPA | Yes |
| What the filter is documented to reduce | Product page uses broad manufacturer reduction language. Inspected exact Amethyst sources contain no model-specific performance table with challenge conditions or percentages; do not report broad sales copy as test evidence or certification. |
| Use and care | Manual describes the jug for post-treatment of tap water under local sanitary rules. Do not treat broad maker claims as disinfection or use the jug instead of public-health treatment for unsafe or unknown water. |
| Separate TDS meter included | No |
| Dispense while reservoir filters | No |
| Pitcher material | Food-grade materials; page states BPA-free; polymer formulation is not stated. |
| Button-controlled electric dispensing | No |
| Stainless-steel body | No |
| Glass water reservoir | No |
| Powered filtration | No |
| Smart app tracking | No |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Check the exact filter setup before you shop.
Capacity, filter type and the written reduction claims belong to the pitcher-and-cartridge combination, not just the pitcher shape.
